The JUNO Awards 2017 – Nominations & Performers Announced

The JUNO Awards of 2017, honouring Canadian music achievements, will be presented in Ottawa the weekend of 1–2 April 2017. The ceremonies will be held at the Canadian Tire Centre in Kanata, a suburb of Ottawa, Ontario and televised on CTV with Michael Bublé as host.

Drake garnered an impressive five nominations: JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year and Rap Recording of the Year.

Shawn Mendes also received five nominations: JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year and Pop Album of the Year.

The Weeknd followed suit with five nominations: JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, and R&B/Soul Recording of the Year.

Close behind with four nominations were Alessia Cara, including JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Artist of the Year and Pop Album of the Year; and the late Leonard Cohen for Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year and Adult Alternative Album of the Year.

The Ottawa area was well represented this year: A Tribe Called Red received three nominations (Jack Richardson Producer of the Year, Video of the Year and Electronic Album of the Year); Belly secured two nominations (JUNO Fan Choice and Rap Recording of the Year), and with first time nominations; Annihilator (Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year); and Daniel Taylor (Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral).

Various events associated with the awards will be held in Ottawa from 27 March until the primary awards ceremony at the Canadian Tire Centre on 2 April.

The Juno Cup charity hockey game will be played at TD Place Arena on 31 March.

A Songwriters’ Circle event will feature Bruce Cockburn on 2 April at the National Arts Centre.

Most award category winners will be announced at a private dinner gala 1 April at the Shaw Centre.

The televised award ceremony on 2 April will be hosted by Michael Bublé with performers including Shawn Mendes, Alessia Cara, Ruth B and The Strumbellas.

Buffy Sainte-Marie is the 2017 recipient of the Allan Waters Humanitarian Award. Randy Lennox is the year’s recipient of the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award. Sarah McLachlan is the 2017 Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee.

The category for Aboriginal Album of the Year was renamed to Indigenous Music Album of the Year as of the 2017 awards.

About the Juno Awards

The Juno Awards are presented annually to Canadian musical artists and bands to acknowledge their artistic and technical achievements in all aspects of music. New members of the Canadian Music Hall of Fame are also inducted as part of the awards ceremonies.

Winners are chosen by either members of the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences or a panel of experts depending on the award. 9 out of 42 categories are based solely on sales figures, such as Album of the Year or Artist of the Year. Nominees are determined by CARAS members for Single of the Year, Artist and Group of the Year. Nominees are determined by a judge vote for the remaining categories who are experts in the relevant genre. The judges are experts in each specific genre of music. The names of the judges remains confidential These judges represent all facets of the Canadian music industry, are spread across the country, and a mixture of males and females in both official languages (English and French). No person can judge the same category two years in a row.

The first Juno trophies were developed by Stan Klees for the first presentations in 1970. These were constructed from walnut wood, stood 18 inches (46 cm) tall and resembled a metronome.As ceremonies became televised in 1975, the award was built from acrylic instead of wood while retaining a metronome shape. The trophy was given minor modifications in succeeding years such as a size reduction for ease of handling, and changes to the inlay design such as a special 1996 emblem to signify the 25th anniversary.

In 2000, following criticism from producers that the existing award trophy did not have an attractive television appearance, CARAS commissioned a redesigned award from Stoney Creek, Ontario artist Shirley Elford. After reviewing three designs, two of which were patterned after the existing trophy, a new trophy design was selected featuring a glass human figure surrounded by a nickel-coated spiral symbolic of a musical staff on an aluminum base. A few display statuettes were circulated for presentation during the ceremonies. Within months, winners received their personalized and individually made trophies from Elford.

In October 2010, CARAS unveiled a new award design to be used from 2011 onward. Elford had developed cancer and was no longer able to produce individual Juno trophies. The new design featured a solid crystal tower containing a sub-surface laser engraving depicting a spiral-wrapped human figure resembling the previous statuette. Elford died in November 2011.

The nominations for each year’s Junos are based on an eligibility period which lasts for 13 to 14 months, ending on the mid-November prior to the awards ceremony. For example, the eligibility period of the 2010 Juno Awards was from 1 September 2008 to 13 November 2009. Music released during the eligibility period may be submitted to CARAS by musicians or their representatives, designated for the appropriate nomination categories. Nominations other than for the International Album of the Year may only be awarded to Canadians who have lived in Canada during the final six months of the eligibility period, and are deemed Canadian by birth, passport or immigration status.

The Juno Awards events were not conducted outside Toronto until 1991. Since then, the ceremonies have been hosted throughout Canada, reaching both coasts. The provinces of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Quebec, and the Territories, have yet to play host to the Junos. In recent years, the various locations often host a number of supporting events and festivals surrounding the awards.